In 2012, there were 147 fatal traffic crashes in North Dakota, resulting in 170 traffic deaths. Seventy-seven of those crashes were “alcohol-related,” with drunk drivers responsible for 87 traffic fatalities. In response, two grieving families pushed for much stiffer DUI laws in the Legislature in the 2013 session. First, the Legislature heard Arlene and Tom Deutscher testify about the death of their son, Aaron, his wife, Allison, and their 18-month-old daughter, Brielle. Allison Deutscher was pregnant at the time. The Deutschers were driving on I-94 near Jamestown. Another driver, whose blood alcohol concentration was three times the legal limit, veered across the median into oncoming traffic. His pickup truck crashed into the Duetschers, killing everyone. In an instant, not only did this man’s drunken driving kill himself, but everyone in a completely innocent, unsuspecting young family.
Next, the Legislature heard testimony from Juan Ruiz and Sandy Hernandez. Ruiz and Hernandez, together with their two children, 9-year-old Alaries Ruiz and 5-year-old Cyris Ruiz, came up from Texas in 2012. While the children slept in a tent during a camping trip near Lake Metigoshe, a drunk driver drove over their tent, killing both Alaries and Cyris, and injuring their 9-year-old friend, Anthony Tabarez, Jr. Again, a decision to get behind the wheel after drinking changed the driver’s life forever, and ended the lives of two children with bright, promising futures.
Clearly, this testimony was heartbreaking and difficult for anyone in the Legislature to hear. Nevertheless, the Legislature listened. More than that, the Legislature responded. While defense attorneys called for the Legislature to study how best to reform the law, the Legislature moved forward with much stiffer DUI penalties. The 2013 law changes doubled minimum mandatory penalties, mandated jail for even first offense DUI cases where the offender’s alcohol concentration is more than 0.16 percent, increased mandatory fines by at least double, stripped away the potential for using drug court treatment models in DUI cases, mandated the use of the 24/7 sobriety program both before and after a conviction, and criminalized refusing a chemical test. The Legislature also extended the look-back period to use prior offenses against a defendant, making it much easier to charge a driver with more serious crimes.
Over the biennium, however, it became apparent the 2013 DUI law needed to be tweaked. Drug Court had been one of the most effective tools in reducing repeated drunken driving but had been essentially written out of the 2013 DUI law. There were also growing pains with the 24/7 program. With the new refusal law, some people were being charged with and convicted of both DUI and of refusal. The law did not provide guidance to the Department of Transportation should treat that for purposes of driver’s license suspensions. That is, was it two offenses or one? Finally, it seemed unreasonable to use really old prior DUI offenses against a person to charge them with a felony-level offense.
With all of these concerns, the DUI law was a topic of much discussion in the 2015 Legislature. With input from prosecutors, defense lawyers, the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and Department of Transportation, the Legislature realized that perhaps some of the issues in the 2013 law needed to be addressed. After all of the testimony, both houses of the Legislature passed SB 2052, which was then sent to the Governor for his signature. On April 15, 2015, Governor Dalrymple signed the bill into law. Because SB 2052 had an emergency clause, it became effective as soon as it was signed. The changes to the DUI statute have now taken effect.
The new DUI law makes the following changes to the 2013 law:
The penalties are still severe and have lasting consequences, but these are all welcome changes to a DUI law that some warned would do little to reduce drunken driving. If you are charged with a DUI, do not wait. Please contact an experienced DUI attorney like Nick Thornton to discuss how this new law affects you. Nick can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org or at (701) 478-7620.
© 2021 Fremstad Law