Phone: 701-478-7620Toll Free: 855-478-7620
We Accept:

Property Crime Defense


Even though property crimes are often non-violent, they can carry serious penalties, including fines and possible jail time, as well as lifelong consequences like making it harder to get a job or get into college, and making you ineligible for grants or scholarships.   

If you or someone you care about has been charged with a property crime, it’s important that you get an experienced, aggressive criminal defense lawyer on your side as quickly as possible. Early involvement by a criminal defense attorney can mean the difference between successful resolution of the case and a guilty verdict. 

At Fremstad Law, our experienced criminal defense lawyers will aggressively defend you against allegations that you committed a property crime, challenging the evidence against you and working hard to have the charges reduced or the case dismissed. 


North Dakota property crimes include robbery, burglary, and trespass, theft offenses, and criminal damaging crimes like arson and criminal mischief.   

Robbery (NDCC 12.1-22-01) occurs when a person, in the course of committing a theft, inflicts or attempts to inflict bodily harm upon another person. If a firearm is used, robbery is chargeable as a Class A felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $20,000, or both. If the actor possesses a firearm or other dangerous weapon but does not use it, robbery is a Class B felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison, a fine of up to $20,000, or both. Otherwise robbery is a Class C felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.   

Burglary (NDCC 12.1-22-02) occurs when a person enters or remains in an occupied structure when the premises are not open to the public, and is a Class B felony if the burglary occurs at night or if the actor inflicts bodily injury upon another person. Otherwise burglary is a Class C felony. 

Trespass (NDCC 12.1-22-03) occurs when a person enters or remains in a dwelling or highly secured premises without license or privilege to do so, and is a Class C felony. If the structure is an occupied non-residential building or storage structure, trespass is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 360 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both.  

Theft offenses (NDCC 12.1-23-01) are graded by the value of the item or items stolen. If the value of the stolen items is greater than $50,000, theft is a Class A felony. If the items are valued at more than $10,000 but less than $50,000, theft is a Class B felony. If the stolen items are valued at less than $10,000, theft is a Class C felony.  

Arson (NDCC 12.1-21-01) is the most serious North Dakota property damage crime and occurs when a person starts a fire with the intent to destroy a building or inhabited structure, or his own property with the purpose of collecting insurance money. It is a Class B felony. 


At Fremstad Law, our experienced criminal defense lawyers will interview witnesses, review police records, obtain video surveillance, and use information you provide to move you forward past allegations that you committed a property crime. We will challenge the evidence and the way it was gathered in an effort to have the evidence excluded, to negotiate a more favorable plea bargain, or to have the case against you dismissed. 

If you were charged with a property crime, the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Fremstad Law can help. From our office in Fargo, we fight for people in North Dakota and Minnesota. 

Learn more about Fremstad Law’s criminal defense practice, our lawyers, and our mission, and contact us today by calling (701) 478-7620. 

Fremstad's Property Crime Defense Attorneys

photo of Nick - Fremstad Law
photo of James - Fremstad Law


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Oct 2021
“Sexting” is the exchange of sexually explicit text messages, photographs, or videos of yourself or someone else. Sexting is most commonly done via a cell phone, but it can also be accomplished using a computer or any other electronic device. Som… Read More
Sep 2021
In North Dakota, it is illegal for someone who is over the age of 18 to engage in sexual activity with someone who is under the age of 18, even if the sexual activity is consensual. An adult who engages in sexual activities with someone who is under… Read More

View All